Mosse-Lectures

Rainald Goetz and Diedrich Diederichsen, MOSSE-LECTURE on May 3, 2012

(© Niels Leiser)

**#History #Cultural History #Politics #Economy #Art #Literature

The Mosse-Lectures are an interdisciplinary and international research and event project, founded in 1997 by the historian George L. Mosse and the literary scholar Klaus R. Scherpe. With their slogan "culture and science as a public commitment", the Mosse-Lectures commemorate the history and legacy of the German-Jewish Mosse family, especially the tradition of the publishing house founded by Rudolf Mosse, which had a great influence on the democratic public of the Weimar Republic with its flagship liberal newspaper "Berliner Tageblatt". Descendants of the Mosse family held on to this tradition in exile, and still to the present day through their political and philanthropic commitment. This is particularly evident in the work of historian of fascism George L. Mosse, who died in 1999. Mosse opened the series of events with his lecture "The Liberal Heritage and the National-Socialist Public" on May 14, 1997. Since then, more than 200 lectures have been held.

Each semester a focus topic is chosen: including among others "Music and Politics", "non finito, unfinished, unfinished", "Future Knowledge", "Class Issues" and currently "Anger". Thus, the Mosse-Lectures are dedicated to imparting knowledge and science in the fields of history, cultural history, politics, economics, art and literature. Prominent scientists, authors, artists and politicians from Germany and abroad are invited. Special attention is paid to the past and present of Jewish life, thought and action in Germany and Israel.

Images

One of the tasks of the Mosse Lectures is to introduce the invited speakers and their fields of work to students of all faculties as well as to an interested public. The events with discussions in English and German usually take place on a Thursday evening in the Senate Hall or the Auditorium Maximum of Humboldt University, Unter den Linden. Student internships and colloquia then follow. The Mosse Lectures are often broadcast on radio and television (RBB, Deutschlandradio, SWR) and published in print.

The Mosse Lectures are organised and supported by the Institute of German Literature and the president of the Humboldt University. A board of researchers and organizers is responsible for the programme, including: Prof. Joseph Vogl, Prof. Ethel Matala de Mazza, Prof. Michael Kämper-van den Boogaart, Prof. Ulrike Vedder, Prof. Stefan Willer, Prof. Lothar Müller, Dr. Hendrik Blumentrath and Denise Reimann.

From the outset Mosse Lectures have been supported by various commercial enterprises and foundations, including the Mosse Foundation, the Fritz Thyssen Foundation, the Gerda Henkel Foundation and the Friedrich Foundation.

Video

Last Mosse Lecture on Youtube

You missed the last Mosse lecture? Have a look on the last recording on Youtube.

Or inform yourself about the upcoming dates!

Contact

Denise Reimann
MOSSE-LECTURES

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Dorotheenstr. 24
10117 Berlin

info@mosse-lectures.de
  • Carlo Ginzburg and Lorraine Daston, MOSSE LECTURE on 09.12.2010
    Niels Leiser
  • Audience at the MOSSE LECTURE by Wang Hui on November 7, 2013
    Niels Leiser
  • Elisabeth Bronfen, MOSSE-LECTURE on June 12, 2014
    Niels Leiser
  • Gayatri Spivak, MOSSE-LECTURE on December 5, 2013
    Niels Leiser
  • Audience at the MOSSE-Lecture by Maria Eichhorn and Sabeth Buchmann on May 9, 2019
    Niels Leiser
  • Klaus Scherpe, MOSSE-LECTURE on June 1, 2017
    Niels Leiser

Share

Folgender Link wurde Ihrer Zwischenablage hinzugefügt. Sie können diesen jetzt nutzen, um ihn in Ihren Netzwerken zu teilen.

Info

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Unter den Linden 6
10117 Berlin

Unter den Linden 6
10117 Berlin

Privacy Settings

We use cookies to help us improve our online services.

Mosse-Lectures

Rainald Goetz und Diedrich Diederichsen, MOSSE-LECTURE am 03.05.2012

(© Niels Leiser)

#Geschichte #Kulturgeschichte #Politik #Wirtschaft #Kunst #Literatur

Die Mosse-Lectures sind ein interdisziplinär und international angelegtes Forschungs- und Veranstaltungsprojekt, gegründet 1997 von dem Historiker George L. Mosse und dem Literaturwissenschaftler Klaus R. Scherpe. Mit ihrem Wahlspruch zur »Öffentlichkeit von Kultur und Wissenschaft« erinnern die Mosse-Lectures an die Geschichte und das Erbe der deutsch-jüdischen Familie Mosse, insbesondere an die Tradition des von Rudolf Mosse gegründeten Verlagshauses, das mit seinem Flaggschiff des liberalen »Berliner Tageblatt« großen Einfluss hatte auf die demokratische Öffentlichkeit der Weimarer Republik. Nachkommen der Familie hielten im Exil und bis in die Gegenwart mit ihrem politischen und philanthropischen Engagement an dieser Tradition fest. Dafür steht insbesondere das Werk des 1999 verstorbenen Historikers des Faschismus, George L. Mosse, der mit seinem Vortrag »Das liberale Erbe und die national-sozialistische Öffentlichkeit« am 14. Mai 1997 die Veranstaltungsreihe eröffnete. Seitdem wurden mehr als 200 Vorträge gehalten.

In jedem Semester wird ein Schwerpunktthema gewählt: unter anderem »Musik und Politik«, »non finito, unfinished, unfertig«, »Zukunftswissen«, »Klassenfragen« und aktuell »Zorn«. Damit widmen sich die Mosse-Lectures der Vermittlung von Wissen und Wissenschaft in den Bereichen von Geschichte, Kulturgeschichte, Politik, Wirtschaft, Kunst und Literatur. Eingeladen werden prominente Wissenschaftler:innen, Autor:innen, Künstler:innen und Politiker:innen aus dem In- und Ausland. Besondere Aufmerksamkeit gilt der Vergangenheit und Gegenwart jüdischen Lebens, Denkens und Handelns in Deutschland und in Israel.

Bilder

Ein Auftrag der Mosse-Lectures ist es, die eingeladenen Persönlichkeiten und ihre Arbeitsgebiete den Studierenden aller Fakultäten und darüber hinaus einer interessierten Öffentlichkeit bekannt zu machen. Die Veranstaltungen mit Diskussion in englischer und deutscher Sprache finden in der Regel an einem Donnerstagabend im Senatssaal oder dem Auditorium Maximum der Humboldt-Universität, Unter den Linden, statt. Studentische Praktika und Kolloquien schließen sich an. Die Mosse Lectures werden oft im Radio und Fernsehen übertragen (RBB, Deutschlandradio, SWR) und veröffentlicht.

Die Mosse-Lectures werden veranstaltet und unterstützt vom Institut für deutsche Literatur und vom Präsidium der Humboldt-Universität. Verantwortlich für das Programm ist das Gremium der Veranstalter: Prof. Joseph Vogl, Prof. Ethel Matala de Mazza, Prof. Michael Kämper-van den Boogaart, Prof. Ulrike Vedder, Prof. Stefan Willer, Prof. Lothar Müller, Dr. Hendrik Blumentrath und Denise Reimann.

Die Mosse-Lectures wurden seit ihrer Gründung von verschiedenen Wirtschaftsunternehmen und Stiftungen gefördert, u.a. von der Mosse Foundation, der Fritz Thyssen Stiftung, der Gerda Henkel Stiftung und der Friedrich Stiftung.

Video

Videoaufzeichnung der vergangenen Mosse-Lecture

Sie haben die letzte Mosse-Lecture verpasst? Sehen Sie sich auf Youtube die Aufzeichnung an.

Oder informieren Sie sich jetzt über die kommenden Termine!

Ansprechpartnerin

Denise Reimann
MOSSE-LECTURES

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Dorotheenstr. 24
10117 Berlin

+49 (0)30.2093 9652
info@mosse-lectures.de
  • Carlo Ginzburg und Lorraine Daston, MOSSE LECTURE am 09.12.2010
    Niels Leiser
  • Publikum bei der MOSSE-LECTURE von Wang Hui am 07.11.2013
    Niels Leiser
  • Elisabeth Bronfen, MOSSE-LECTURE am 12.06.2014
    Niels Leiser
  • Gayatri Spivak, MOSSE-LECTURE am 05.12.2013
    Niels Leiser
  • Publikum bei der MOSSE-LECTURE von Maria Eichhorn und Sabeth Buchmann am 09.05.2019
    Niels Leiser
  • Klaus Scherpe, MOSSE-LECTURE am 01.06.2017
    Niels Leiser

Share

Folgender Link wurde Ihrer Zwischenablage hinzugefügt. Sie können diesen jetzt nutzen, um ihn in Ihren Netzwerken zu teilen.

Info

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Unter den Linden 6
10099 Berlin

Datenschutzeinstellungen

Wir verwenden Cookies, um die Benutzerfreundlichkeit unserer Website zu verbessern und sicherzustellen.